Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Announced

Posted in News on July 17, 2017

Ben Albano

Ben Albano

The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame (ORMHOF) announced its newest inductees for the Class of 2017. Twenty esteemed members of the off-road community evaluated yet another record number of nominations, and voted on the worthiest of the bunch. Those selected for the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2017 include motorcycle racing pioneer Dave Ekins, Crandon Raceway founder Cliff Flannery, off-road legend Bob Gordon, and off-road innovator Bill Savage. The Inductees will be celebrated at the public ORMHOF Induction & Awards Ceremony on Monday, October 30, 2017 at the South Point in Las Vegas.

Dave Ekins


Racing pioneer Dave Ekins is best known for his and his riding partner Bill Robertson’s record run from Tijuana to La Paz in March of 1962. It took 39 hours and 56 minutes, and their trip became the precursor to the race that would become the Mexican 1000 and today’s Baja 1000. He was also the first rider ever supported in racing by American Honda, and was among the first group of Honda representatives to travel to Japan. Other notable accomplishments include his 10-year career as a motorcycle magazine editor at Dirt Rider, one of the first off-road motorcycle magazines. Both he and his brother Bud are members of the AMA Hall of Fame and, come October, the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame.

Cliff Flannery

Cliff Flannery, who is the president of Crandon International Off-Road Raceway in Crandon Wisconsin, provided his brother Jack and countless other racers with the opportunity to ride and compete at his world-class facility. While creating and managing a facility like Crandon is certainly a Hall of Fame worthy achievement, it was supposedly Flannery’s philanthropic work that helped him edge out other nominees in the voting process. Each year, Crandon…

Article Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *