La Quinta wins clash with Savanna, earns first playoff victory since 1990 – Orange County Register

GARDEN GROVE- The last playoff game La Quinta walked away from victorious happened in 1990.

But the Aztecs ended the school’s drought Friday night at Bolsa Grande High as they defeated Savanna 28-15 to advance to the second round of the CIF-SS Division 13 playoffs.

La Quinta (10-1) plays Webb at home next week in a rematch from earlier in the season when the Aztecs defeated Webb 51-14.

Savanna (6-5) led 8-7 in the first half and La Quinta coach Andy Diaz felt both teams might have been a bit nervous to start the game.

“At halftime all I told them was … play your game, be yourself, do what’s gotten us here,” he said, “which is playing defense, running the ball and just playing La Quinta Aztec football.”

La Quinta held Savanna to 121 yards rushing and 135 yards passing. The Aztecs rushed for 290 yards while Dylan Do and Tony Ta (two touchdowns) combined for 186 yards.

Ta’s 5-yard rushing touchdown in the third quarter gave the Aztecs a 14-8 lead.

La Quinta increased the lead to 21-8 in the third quarter with a Michael Nadeau 5-yard touchdown.

A fumble by the Rebels in the third quarter pushed the game out of reach after it fell into the end zone where La Quinta Linebacker Louis Bui jumped on it for a touchdown, increasing the lead 28-8.

Sam Delgadillo rushed 19 times for 93 yards and scored a touchdown for Savanna in the fourth quarter.

There where eight turnovers in the game. Savanna intercepted the ball three times and recovered a fumble. La Quinta picked the ball off twice and recovered a fumble.

Ta brought La Quinta to within one point, 8-7, in the second quarter after he barreled through the Savanna defense on a toss right for a 12-yard touchdown run.

Savanna scored first when Smith found Hernandez hustling down the right seam for a 71-yard touchdown catch and run. Smith scored the 2-point conversion to hand Savanna an early 8-0 lead.

The Aztecs and the Rebels last appeared in a CIF-SS playoff game in 2010, both losing in the first round.

Article Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *