Isley wins Sportsman feature at CCD | Motor-sports

CHARLESTON — Saturday Charleston’s Chad Isley, the National Hot Rod Association National Champion, won the Sportsman division at the Coles County Dragway Chris Little’s 1984 Mustang. He beat Eric Cooper of Martinsville.

Isley is the points leader in the Sportsman division by two points over Decatur’s Ellis V. Buth. 

Kyle Hanks of Gays won the Novice Street division in his 1998 Firebrid, the Lake Land College Club Car. The division is for beginners where anyone with a street vehicle can try their luck at racing. 

Decatur’s Kevin Hunt won the True Street division, while Ludlow’s Troy Allen was the winner of the Scrap Speed Street Fighter. 

Champaign’s Sam Zahnd won the Pro division beating Arcola’s Mikey Robinson.

Bob Paul of Westfield won the Super Pro division for the fourth straight time in a row and fifth overall. paul was in his 1982 S-10 and beat Oakland’s Randy Katz.

Friday in the Paap Printing Fun Night and Scram Speed 217 Outlaw Flashlight Start Cash Days, Tom Franks of Homer took home the cash payout with his 1979 Futura using Twin Turbo’s.

Friday is the Paap Printing Fun Night where it is $10 to race or watch. Saturday is the Summit ET Points race number nine and JT Muffler Quick Series race number two featuring Super Pro, Pro, Sprotsman, JT Muffler quick eight, Super Pro Bike, Novice Street, Junior Street, Junior Dragster, and Test-N-Tune. Admission is $10 for adults and kids 12-and-under are free. 

Gates are to open at 5 p.m. Friday with time runs to start at 6 p.m.

Mullins wins UMP Modified feature

CHARLESTON — Brent Mullins beat out 12 other racers to win the UMP Modifieds Saturday at the Charleston Speedway.

Benji Rine won UMP B-Mods, while Jerrad Krick was the UMP Street Stocks feature winner. Jesse Simmons was the winner of the UMP Factory Stocks feature and Lynn Lash earned first in the Hornet feature. 

Article Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *