Examining which driver could replace Kasey Kahne at Hendrick Motorsports

Hendrick Motorsports is in a league of its own when it comes to American motorsports. Since its debut in 1984, Team Hendrick owns 300 wins, 16 driver championships and 271 pole positions across NASCAR’s three national series. 

Over the past 22 years, Rick Hendrick’s team has 12 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championships. To put that into perspective, the next closest team is Joe Gibbs Racing with four, and after that it’s a tie between Roush-Fenway and Stewart-Haas Racing, which was founded in 2009. Let’s not forget that Kevin Harvick and Tony Stewart won their respective championships for SHR using engines supplied by none other than Hendrick Motorsports.

That dominance is thanks in part to the drivers the Hendrick team marches out season after season. Seven-time champion Jimmie Johnson, four-time champ Jeff Gordon, 40-time race winner Mark Martin and NASCAR’s most popular driver, Dale Earnhardt Jr., are just a few of the names that have driven for Hendrick over the past 20 years. Kyle Busch even had a strong run with the team earlier in the millennium before leaving for Joe Gibbs Racing.

It appears the team is again preparing itself for another long run of success with young gun Chase Elliott on the cusp of a playoff birth this year and promising young driver Alex Bowman suiting up in the No. 88 next season. Johnson continues to be a part of the foreseeable future given he hasn’t really discussed retirement.

That brings us to the No. 5 car, which is currently unmanned past this season after news broke that Kasey Kahne would end a six-year run with the team at the conclusion of the season.

Hendrick has yet to name a successor in the No. 5 Chevrolet, but here are some options to consider.

William Byron

Byron has been absolutely tearing it up in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this season, exploding onto the scene with three wins after winning the NASCAR Camping World Truck…

Article Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *