Darian Grubb named crew chief of No. 5 team for Kasey Kahhe

Hendrick Motorsports has named Darian Grubb crew chief for the No. 5 Chevrolet team and driver Kasey Kahne for the remaining nine Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs races in 2017 NASCAR Cup Series season, the team announced Monday afternoon in a press release. He will be atop the pit box for Sunday’s event at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

PHOTOS: All of Kahne’s career wins

Grubb, 41, led Tony Stewart to the 2011 championship and has posted 23 total victories in the series, which rank him third among active full-time crew chiefs, behind only teammate Chad Knaus (81 wins) and Todd Parrott (31 wins). He has recorded 18 pole positions, 72 top-five finishes and 130 top-10s in his career.

“Darian is an extremely talented and experienced crew chief,” said Hendrick Motorsports president Marshall Carlson. “Having been back with us for more than 20 months, he knows all of our people and processes. There’s no one more prepared to hit the ground running at this point in the year.”

RELATED: Kahne won’t return to HMS in 2018 | See Kahne’s special paint scheme

Grubb originally joined Hendrick Motorsports in January 2003. He served as the lead race engineer for the No. 48 Chevrolet and driver Jimmie Johnson from 2003-2006, including four races as interim crew chief during the team’s 2006 championship season. Grubb earned one win in 2007 as crew chief for Casey Mears before being named engineering manager for the Nos. 5 and 88 Hendrick Motorsports teams for 2008.

In 2009, Grubb moved into a crew chief role at Stewart-Haas Racing, where in three seasons with driver Stewart he won 11 races and the 2011 Monster Energy Series title. He then joined Joe Gibbs Racing, recording nine total victories from 2012-2015 as crew chief for drivers Denny Hamlin and Carl Edwards. Grubb rejoined Hendrick Motorsports in January 2016 to oversee race car manufacturing as vehicle production director and was recently promoted to director of competition systems.


Article Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *