Atlantic Book Awards honour region’s top writers – Nova Scotia

The Atlantic Book Awards were announced Thursday night, handing out 10 prizes for some of the region’s leading writers.

The Pioneer Award celebrates a lifetime achievement of contributing to literature on the East Coast. This year, it went to Fernwood Publishing founder Errol Sharpe.

Sharpe, 77, was born and raised in P.E.I. and started Fernwood 25 years ago. He had previously started Garamond Press in Toronto.

The other nine awards went to:

1.  Alistair MacLeod Prize for Short Fiction

Willem De Kooning’s Paintbrush by Kerry Lee Powell, published by HarperCollins Canada.

2.  Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature

Into the Wasteland by Lesley Choyce, published by Red Deer Press.

3.  Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association’s Best Atlantic-Published Book Award

Goose Lane Editions for Lucy Jarvis: Even Stones Have Life by Roslyn Rosenfeld.

4.  Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing

Brand Command: Canadian Politics and Democracy in the Age of Message Control by Alex Marland, published by University of British Columbia Press.

5.  The Robbie Robertson Dartmouth Book Award (Non-Fiction)

Viola Desmond’s Canada: A History of Black and Racial Segregation in the Promised Land by Graham Reynolds with Wanda Robson, published by Fernwood Publishing.

6.  Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing

Sable Island in Black and White by Jill Martin Bouteillier, published by Nimbus Publishing.

7.  Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction)

Advocate by Darren Greer, published by Cormorant Books.

8.  Lillian Shepherd Award for Excellence in Illustration

Suzanne Del Rizzo for Sky Pig, written by Jan L. Coates, published by Pajama Press.

9.  Margaret and John Savage First Book Award

Notes from a Feminist Killjoy: Essays on Everyday Life by Erin Wunker, published by Bookthug.

Article Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *